Life Through my Lens as an Intern

Welcome!

I’ve started a blog all about being an intern. When people think of interns now-a-days, they seem to think of interns as that lucky person that goes and gets everyone Starbucks or makes copies or runs irritating errands. Well, luckily for me, I’ve been a key piece of the puzzle as an intern at FOX 10 in Phoenix for the past 5 months. I work with the production team who are responsible for directing and making the newscast happen. We are not responsible for coming up with the content, but we program everything you see on live TV. With that being said, you’re probably wondering, well what the heck do you do? Believe it or not, I’m a Floor Director on some days, other days I’m in charge of playing the graphics during the show. As a Floor Director, it’s my job to take care of the studio which i’ll be sure to give you a glimpse of next time. I set up all the equipment and the set so that when the anchors get there, we’re ready to go. During the broadcast, I’m in the studio with the anchors telling them when they’re on camera and making sure everyone knows what they’re doing. Every once in a great while, I get to play the graphics during the show straight from the control. This is an exciting job for me because I’m directly in charge of putting graphics on live TV for the entire audience to see. With that being said, sometimes I feel like there is a lot of pressure behind me, maybe because there really is. In the end, I try not to worry about it because as long as I’m trying my best, everything should turn out fine. Within 5 months, I’ve already been through a couple disasters where something goes wrong and nothing goes right for me. I’ll be sure to ad-lib on those when they come up in later posts. For now, I hope you got a sense of what I do as an intern, but I want to know what you do as an intern? Where do you intern? What are some of the most memorable moments from your internship or past internships? I look forward to hearing from you! Jot down some comments below and I’ll be sure to get back to you!

Until next time,

Brandon Garcia

One response to “Life Through my Lens as an Intern

  • Clarissa Tapia

    I really like your idea of a behind the scenes look at what an intern really does. I also intern with Fox, but on their radio show with Mike Broomhead, so I know what kind of stuff can go down in such a studio! I can’t wait to see what adventures you write about!

Leave a Reply

